Ho’oponopono

I share a text written by Joe Vitale that made a profound impression on me when I originally read it, and still does. My only comment would be: the belief is only as powerful as the believer.

After the original date in which I posted this text, my understanding of this technique expanded, I have included some of it below, at the end of the text.

Morrnah Simeona, teacher of Dr. Len.

Comparto un texto de Joe Vitale que me impresionó sobremanera cuando lo leí hace tiempo y aún me cuestiona mucho de lo que creo. Mi  único comentario al respecto es: la creencia es sólo tan grande como el que cree (versión en Español abajo).

Después de haber subido esta información mi comprensión de la técnica se ha ampliado, he incluído algo de este material mas abajo, al final del texto.

Ho’oponopono

By Joe Vitale

“Two years ago, I heard about a therapist in Hawaii who cured a complete ward of criminally insane patients–without ever seeing any of them. The psychologist would study an inmate’s chart and then look within himself to see how he created that person’s illness. As he improved himself, the patient improved.

“When I first heard this story, I thought it was an urban legend. How could anyone heal anyone else by healing himself? How could even the best self-improvement master cure the criminally insane? It didn’t make any sense. It wasn’t logical, so I dismissed the story.

“However, I heard it again a year later. I heard that the therapist had used a Hawaiian healing process called ho ‘oponopono. I had never heard of it, yet I couldn’t let it leave my mind. If the story was at all true, I had to know more. I had always understood “total responsibility” to mean that I am responsible for what I think and do. Beyond that, it’s out of my hands. I think that most people think of total responsibility that ay. We’re responsible for what we do, not what anyone else does–but that’s wrong.

“The Hawaiian therapist who healed those mentally ill people would teach me an advanced new perspective about total responsibility. His name is Dr. Ihaleakala Hew Len. We probably spent an hour talking on our first phone call. I asked him to tell me the complete story of his work as a therapist. He explained that he worked at Hawaii State Hospital for four years. That ward where they kept the criminally insane was dangerous.

Psychologists quit on a monthly basis. The staff called in sick a lot or simply quit. People would walk through that ward with their backs against the wall, afraid of being attacked by patients. It was not a pleasant place to live, work, or visit.

“Dr. Len told me that he never saw patients. He agreed to have an office and to review their files. While he looked at those files, he would work on himself. As he worked on himself, patients began to heal.

“‘After a few months, patients that had to be shackled were being allowed to walk freely,’ he told me. ‘Others who had to be heavily medicated were getting off their medications. And those who had no chance of ever being released were being freed.’ I was in awe.’Not only that,’ he went on, ‘but the staff began to enjoy coming to work. Absenteeism and turnover disappeared. We ended up with more staff than we needed because patients were being released, and all the staff was showing up to work. Today, that ward is closed.’

“This is where I had to ask the million dollar question: ‘What were you doing within yourself that caused those people to change?’

“‘I was simply healing the part of me that created them,’ he said. I didn’t understand. Dr. Len explained that total responsibility for your life means that everything in your life- simply because it is in your life–is your responsibility. In a literal sense the entire world is your creation.

“Whew. This is tough to swallow. Being responsible for what I say or do is one thing. Being responsible for what everyone in my life says or does is quite another. Yet, the truth is this: if you take complete responsibility for your life, then everything you see, hear, taste, touch, or in any way experience is your responsibility because it is in your life. This means that terrorist activity, the president, the economy or anything you experience and don’t like–is up for you to heal. They don’t exist, in a manner of speaking, except as projections from inside you. The problem isn’t with them, it’s with you, and to change them, you have to change you.

“I know this is tough to grasp, let alone accept or actually live. Blame is far easier than total responsibility, but as I spoke with Dr. Len, I began to realize that healing for him and in ho ‘oponopono means loving yourself.

“If you want to improve your life, you have to heal your life. If you want to cure anyone, even a mentally ill criminal you do it by healing you.

“I asked Dr. Len how he went about healing himself. What was he doing, exactly, when he looked at those patients’ files?

“‘I just kept saying, ‘I’m sorry’ and ‘I love you’ over and over again,’ he explained.

“That’s it?

“That’s it.

“Turns out that loving yourself is the greatest way to improve yourself, and as you improve yourself, you improve your world.

“Let me give you a quick example of how this works: one day, someone sent me an email that upset me. In the past I would have handled it by working on my emotional hot buttons or by trying to reason with the person who sent the nasty message.

“This time, I decided to try Dr. Len’s method. I kept silently saying, ‘I’m sorry’ and ‘I love you,’ I didn’t say it to anyone in particular. I was simply evoking the spirit of love to heal within me what was creating the outer circumstance.

“Within an hour I got an e-mail from the same person. He apologized for his previous message. Keep in mind that I didn’t take any outward action to get that apology. I didn’t even write him back. Yet, by saying ‘I love you,’ I somehow healed within me what was creating him.

“I later attended a ho ‘oponopono workshop run by Dr. Len. He’s now 70 years old, considered a grandfatherly shaman, and is somewhat reclusive.

He praised my book, The Attractor Factor. He told me that as I improve myself, my book’s vibration will raise, and everyone will feel it when they read it. In short, as I improve, my readers will improve.

“‘What about the books that are already sold and out there?’ I asked.

“‘They aren’t out there,’ he explained, once again blowing my mind with his mystic wisdom. ‘They are still in you.’ In short, there is no out there. It would take a whole book to explain this advanced technique with the depth it deserves.

“Suffice It to say that whenever you want to improve anything in your life, there’s only one place to look: inside you. When you look, do it with love.”

It is worth noting that most information available in the web regarding this form of prayer is somehow linked to Dr. Len and Joe Vitale who have written a book with mixed reviews, but ultimately, the person that developed this modified version is Morrnah Nalamaku Simeona, a Hawaiian Kahuna Lapa’au who taught Dr. Len after healing his daughter. She called it Self I-Dentity through Ho’oponopono® (SITH®), a Hawaiian problem solving process to release memories that are experienced as problems.
Seemingly the actual Ho’oponopono prayer consists of this sequence, regardless of the order:

I Love You
Please forgive me
I am sorry
Thank you

And this is what is known as:

MORRNAH’S PRAYER
Divine creator, father, mother, son as one…If I, my family, relatives and ancestors have offended you, your family, relatives and ancestors in thoughts, words, deeds and actions from the beginning of our creation to the present, we ask your forgiveness…Let this cleanse, purify, release, cut all the negative memories, blocks, energies and vibrations, and transmute these unwanted energies into pure light….And it is done.
Now, having said that… ultimately, I understand that what will make a difference in your life as a result of practicing either one is your profound belief and honesty as you say the words and take responsibility for what shows up in your world, so it does not matter what you say but if you mean it and believe in its efficacy.
For more information here is a link with a good amount on the subject.

Ho’oponopono

Por Joe Vitale

“Hace dos años, he oído hablar de un terapeuta en Hawaii quien curó un pabellón completo de pacientes criminales insanos -. Sin siquiera ver a ninguno de ellos El psicólogo estudiaba la ficha del recluso y luego miraba dentro de si mismo para ver cómo él había creado la enfermedad de esa persona . A medida que el mejoraba, el paciente mejoró. “Cuando escuché por primera vez esta historia, pensé que era una leyenda urbana. ¿Cómo podía cualquiera curar a otro por curarse a sí mismo? ¿Cómo podía aunque fuera el maestro de mayor poder de auto-cura a los locos criminales? No tenía ningún sentido. No era lógico, por lo que desestimó la historia.

“Sin embargo, la escuche nuevamente un año después. Escuché que el terapeuta había usado un proceso de sanación Hawaiano llamado oponopono ho ‘. Yo nunca había oído hablar de él, sin embargo no podía sacarlo de mi mente. Si la historia era totalmente cierta, yo tenía que saber más. Siempre había entendido que “total responsabilidad” significaba que yo soy responsable de lo que pienso y hago. Más allá de eso, está fuera de mis manos. Creo que la mayoría de la gente piensa de la responsabilidad total que ay . Somos responsables de lo que hacemos, no lo que los otros hacen – pero eso está equivocado.

“El terapeuta Hawaiano que sanó a esas personas mentalmente enfermas me enseñaría una nueva perspectiva avanzada acerca de la responsabilidad total. Su nombre es Dr. Ihaleakala Hew Len . Probablemente hayamos pasado una hora hablando en nuestra primera conversación telefónica. Yo le pedí que me contara la completa historia de su trabajo como terapeuta. Él explicó que había trabajado en el Hospital Estatal de Hawai durante cuatro años. El pabellón donde encerraban a los locos criminales era peligroso.

Los psicólogos renunciaban al mes. El personal allí caían enfermos o simplemente renunciaban. La gente camina a través de ese barrio con sus espaldas contra la pared, temerosos de ser atacados por los pacientes. No era un lugar agradable para vivir, trabajar o visitar.

“El Dr. Len me dijo que nunca vio a los pacientes. Estuvo de acuerdo en tener una oficina y revisar sus legajos. Mientras miraba esos legajos, el trabajaría sobre si mismo. Mientras trabajaba en el mismo, los pacientes comenzaban a curarse.

“‘Después de unos meses, los pacientes que debían estar encadenados se les permitía caminar libremente” me dijo. “Otros que tenían que estar fuertemente medicados, comenzaban a mermar su medicación. Y los que no tenía ninguna posibilidad de salir un día fueron de ser liberado. Yo estaba asombrado. “No sólo eso-continuó-, pero el personal comenzó a gozar yendo a trabajar. Ausentismo y rotación de desaparecidos. Terminamos con más personal del que necesitábamos porque los pacientes eran liberados y todo el personal de la mostraba a trabajar. Hoy ese pabellón está cerrado. “

“Aquí es donde yo tuve que hacer la pregunta del millón:” ¿Qué estuvo haciendo usted con usted mismo que ocasionó que esas personas cambiaran ” “” Yo simplemente estaba sanando la parte de mí que los creó “, dijo. Yo no entendía. El Dr. Len explicó que la total responsabilidad de tu vida implica que todo en tu vida, simplemente porque es en su vida – es su responsabilidad. En un sentido literal, todo el mundo es tu creación.

. “¡Menos mal Esto es difícil de tragar Ser responsable por lo que digo o hago una cosa es ser responsable de lo que todos en mi vida hace o dice es otra muy distinta Sin embargo, la verdad es la siguiente:… Si usted toma la responsabilidad completa de su la vida, entonces todo lo que vemos, oímos, gusto, tacto, o de cualquier modo la experiencia es su responsabilidad porque está en tu vida Esto significa que la actividad terrorista, el presidente, la economía o cualquier cosa que experimentas y no te gusta. – es para usted para sanar. No existen, en una forma de hablar, excepto como proyecciones que salen de tu interior. El problema no es con ellos, es con usted, y para cambiarlo, debes cambiar tú.

“Sé que esto es difícil de captar, mucho menos de aceptar o vivir realmente. La culpa es mucho más fácil que la responsabilidad total, pero mientras hablaba con el Dr. Len, comencé a comprender esa sanación de él y en oponopono ho ‘significa amarte a ti mismo. “Si quieres mejorar tu vida, debes sanar tu vida. Si deseas curar a cualquiera, incluso a un criminal mentalmente enfermo, lo haces por la curación que usted.

“Le pregunté al Dr. Len cómo se curaba a sí mismo. ¿Qué estaba haciendo exactamente cuando miraba los legajos de esos pacientes?

“Yo simplemente permanecía diciendo ‘Lo siento’ y ‘Te amo’, una y otra vez”, explicó.

“Eso es todo?

“Eso es todo.

“Resulta que amarte a ti mismo es la mejor forma de mejorarte a ti mismo, y como a ti mismo de mejorar, a mejorar su mundo.

“Déjeme darle un ejemplo rápido de cómo funciona esto:. Un día, alguien me envió un mail que me desequilibra en el pasado lo hubiera manejado trabajando sobre mis aspectos emocionales tórridos o tratando de razonar con la persona que envió ese mensaje detestable.

“Esta vez, decidí probar el método el Dr. Len. Me puse a pronunciar silenciosamente” lo siento “y” Te amo “, yo no lo decía a nadie en particular. Simplemente estaba invocando el espíritu del amor para sanar dentro de mí lo que estaba creando la circunstancia externa.

“Dentro de una hora recibí un e-mail de la misma persona. Se disculpó por su mensaje previo. Tenga en cuenta que yo no realicé ninguna acción externa para lograr esa disculpa. Yo ni siquiera a escribir de nuevo. Sin embargo, diciendo “Te amo”, de algún modo sané dentro de mí lo que estaba creando en él.

“Más tarde asistió a un taller ho ‘oponopono dirigido por el Dr. Len. Él tiene ahora 70 años de edad, considerado un chaman abuelo y es algo solitario. Elogió mi libro, El Factor Atractivo. Él me dijo que como yo me mejoro, mis vibración libro aumentará y todos lo sentirán cuando lo lean. En definitiva, como puedo mejorar, mis lectores mejorarán.

“¿Qué pasa con los libros que ya he vendido y no fuera? Le pregunté.

“‘Ellos no están ahí fuera”, explicó, una vez más soplando mi mente con su sabiduría mística. “Todavía están en ti.” En resumen, no hay por ahí. Haría falta un libro entero para explicar esta técnica avanzada con la profundidad que merece.

“Basta con decir que cuando se quiere mejorar algo en su vida, sólo hay un lugar para buscar:. Dentro de ti Cuando mires, hazlo con amor”.

Trad. cortesía de Google.

Vale la pena mencionar el hecho de que la mayor parte de la información sobre este tema en la web, se encuentra vinculada de una u otra forma al Dr. Len y a Joe Vitale, quienes han escrito un libro (el cual ha recibido críticas variadas), sin embargo, quien originalmente concretó la forma modificada de Ho’oponopono como la conocemos hoy fué Morrnah Nalamaku Simeona, Kahuna Hawaiana Lapa’au quien enseñó al Dr. Len después de curar a su hija. Ella le llamó SITH (Self I-Dentity through Ho’oponopono SITH®), una forma Hawaiana para solucionar conflictos al soltar memorias que son vividas como problemas.
Aparentemente la oración de Ho’oponopono es una combinación de las siguientes frases, sin importar el orden:

Te Amo
Por favor discúlpame
Lo siento
Gracias

A continuación traduzco lo que se conoce como la oración de Morrnah:

Creador divino, padre, madre, hijo como uno… Si Yo, mi familia, parientes y ancestros, te han ofendido a tí o a tu familia, parientes o ancestros con pensamientos, palabras obras o acciones, desde el principio de la creación hasta el presente, pido tu perdón… Permite que limpie, purifique, suelte y corte todas las memorias negativas, bloques, energías y vibraciones y transmute estas energías no deseadas en pura luz… Así sea.

En cuanto a la forma empleada para la oración, en última instancia, lo que va a determinar el resultado final al usar uno u otro texto, es la profunda creencia y honestidad al repetir lo que se dice. Dicho de otra manera, son menos importantes las palabras empleadas que la creencia profunda en el evento que se invoca.
Para mayor información, incluyo un enlace a una página con un excelente texto de análisis respecto al tema.

2 comments

  1. Tahia · October 16, 2011

    This text resonates with my newly discovered idea about responsibility as well. I agree with the idea that what we are responsible for the world we live in that includes all that we experience or touch, not just our own life. It’s the greatest responsibility and an honor.

  2. silenthead · October 21, 2011

    I agree Tahia, it all seems to change when you start seeing things under that light. I recently saw the movie FInding Joe, lacking the quotation, I paraphrase an idea contained in it: “we become our own hero when we get tired of identifying with the role of the victim”.

Leave a comment